Ostara (a haiku)

 

demeter1

The goddess Eostre

dressed in splendor, finally

conquering winter

colored-eggs-in-easter-basket

 

 

 

20 comments on “Ostara (a haiku)

  1. Yarn Spells says:

    Finally! Blessed be.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Doreen says:

    Hey Christine! How do I sign up to get an email when you publish something!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Doreen! I actually don’t have it fixed for emails yet… Sorry! My tech capabilities, gah! In the meantime you should get a notice in your followed sites. Hope that is OK? Thanks for reading 🙂 Hope you are doing well. Spring in Michigan? It must be beautiful.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Doreen says:

        Yes we are having Spring! Of course it’s ok to follow you in my followed listings! Or look you up! I just don’t want to miss any posts as I am getting back into the swing of things after moving. I totally get you about the tech stuff. But you get to be a brilliant writer instead! xo

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks so much Doreen, glad you enjoy them! Hope the move went well and glad you are back in the swing of things. It is nice to finally get some warmer weather 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice! We are officially in Spring! I have a question about Eostre – as I have seen a few different spellings, and do not know if these are different concepts. I grew up a Christian, and was astonished to read about the connection between paganism (Astarte) and Christianity. I remember reading (if it was correct) that Astarte was a celebration where people would run around nude, and then came the connection to eggs (fertility) – which is then connected to the Son of God and all the leaves and trees growing again. Is any of this true?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, yes, that is all actually true! Christians are often astounded to learn that Easter has its roots in Paganism. The goddess of fertility may be called Astarte, Eostre or Ishtar (depending upon which part of the world you come from). The Pagan feast of Ostara or Astarte is a celebration of fertility and the coming of spring. Hence rabbits and eggs. The name ‘Easter’ was probably derived from Eostre or Ishtar… The Resurrection of Jesus is also a celebration of life, falling around the same time of the year.

      Actually the date of Easter is still determined in a Pagan way — by the full moon. Easter always occurs on the first Sunday after the first full moon of the vernal equinox (or Ostara). The full moon this year will occur on April 11th and Easter will be on Sunday April 16th. Pagan and Christian have a lot more in common than many folk realize!

      Hope that answers your question Darryl, thanks for asking! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Christine! I knew you would know =D This absolutely answers my question. The links between paganism and Christianity are really interesting. If memory serves: Constantine wanted the Roman Empire to convert to Christianity, but he did not want to totally rip the ground from beneath everyone, either. I think that explains why the symbols are similar – it made for a smooth transition. Whereas one would worship The Sun, they started to worship The Son. And like you said: the times had to line up with the movements of the heavenly bodies. It is amazing how nowhere in the Bible does it say that Jesus was born on December 25th. The passages hint toward him being born more toward September. But during that week in December is the Saturnalia -a festival- and that is why this time was chosen. Mind blowing stuff, right? =D

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes. I have done some Bible studies and I found that many scholars agree that Jesus must have been born in around September. This would make his conception occur in December, not his birth… But true that Yule and Saturnalia were celebrated during December (winter solstice and return of the sun) so it must have been a convenient switch. I am pretty sure that Constantine forced his subjects to convert, but hijacking the Pagan holidays and Christianizing them made sense also. (To him anyway.)

        My theory of course is that Constantine must have figured out that Christianity would be a GREAT way to control people. There is the convenient punishment of Hell for bad behavior (i.e. going against the government) and also the convenient reward of Heaven for good behavior. Emperor’s and King’s laws then became ‘God’s Laws’ of course. When the peasants and slaves figured out they had such miserable lives they started to commit suicide (to get to Heaven quicker) — well then, suicide became a big sin that would land you in Hell. That way they could keep the peasants in peasantry and the slaves slaving.

        Hmmm is this picture starting to look a bit familiar? LOL!

        Thanks for your thoughts Darryl! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. John W. Leys says:

    Nice! I love that you wrote about a Pagan Goddess using a Japanese poetic form. I recently wrote a few Norse Mythology Haiku. Love the form & love doing new things with it and experimenting. Good stuff, Christine!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks John! I have enjoyed your Norse Mythology poems as well, very creative 🙂 It is a fun challenge to use Haiku and other forms.

      Liked by 1 person

      • John W. Leys says:

        I agree. Formal poetry can be a fun challlenge, as well as a good excercise for honing poetic skills even when writing in other forms (or no forms!). I’ve really grown to love writing Haiku and Tanka forms.

        I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the Norse Mythology poems. I enjoy writing them quite a bit. I’m just happy I’m not the only one who likes them 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I love them! I love the Norse pantheon. It is getting very popular lately — possibly because of Neil Gaiman’s books and also because of the new Odin temples being constructed. At any rate, fascinating stuff — keep up the great poetry 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • John W. Leys says:

        There is definitely something special about the Norse pantheon. I’m a lover of mythology in general, but I keep coming back to the Æsir for some reason. Its a little less “refined” perhaps than Classical Mythology, more authentic? I don’t know, I just know I like it 🙂

        Gaiman’s book is an excellent read, I really enjoyed it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think it is more authentic in many ways. It is widespread and seems to account for many of our modern values. We may have been subconsciously given a love of the Norse pantheon by Tolkien also!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

