In The Bleak Midwinter

 

winter-pd

Today for your listening entertainment, I give you ‘In the Bleak Midwinter’ performed by the fabulous Mediaeval Baebes.  Lyrics for this song were taken from a 19th century poem by Christina Rossetti. Music is by Gustav Holst.

Here in the Midwestern U.S.A. we remain buried in snow and ice, so this song is particularly appropriate for me!  Hope you are warm and safe wherever you are.

 

 

 

21 comments on “In The Bleak Midwinter

  1. hocuspocus13 says:

    Here on the East Coast we had snow flurries ❄⛄❄ very cold temps

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Perfect for this snowy morning, with a big storm coming our way!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the Belafonte song. I never realized the reference. Thank for that.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful photos and song!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. L says:

    Lovely! A few minutes of happiness in this very sad world… Regards, L

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Vicky V says:

    Such a haunting song and such beautiful images. Thanks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The beauty (and sometimes horror!) of winter…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Vicky V says:

        Another difference between the hemispheres. Because Australian winters are so mild winter isn’t a very dangerous time. But in summer we have snakes, bushfires and our beaches are home to deadly critters, including sharks!! Autumn and winter is when we kickback and relax, come spring we are excited, but on high alert 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes — you know, for a long time I have believed Aussies and Americans have a lot in common. Both started out as penal colonies to Great Britain (haha!) and both are used to braving a lot of environmental dangers. And both have (in my experience) a similar sense of humor. Americans search for the Land of Oz and Aussies actually live there… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Vicky V says:

        We do have a lot in common. I often think about how being dropped into such a hostile and deadly environment shapes you. It makes you tough and resourceful and really appreciative of humour 🙂 I love my American friends, you are so open and friendly, much like us Aussies. Lol at the Land of Oz! Australia is an awesome country, we could be better politically but it is still a great place. I just wish that we were a republic. I’m hoping one day we can have our own Independence Day 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, all true! I have never met an Aussie that I did not like, and when I have traveled abroad, I have even been mistaken for an Aussie! Until I open my mouth you know 🙂

        The Land of Oz was not without its dangers, but was fascinating for Dorothy (who was a Midwesterner. In a tornado!) I hope Australia becomes a republic too, that would be awesome.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

