When Darkness Falls Part 1

 

-sleeping-city-sleep-night-evening-dark pd

To say it sent a  shiver  down my spine would be trite, although it did. This place was amazing, a world unto itself.  It was ‘the underground’, the obscure, but not as you know it. A club with a basement chamber beneath, hidden like a speakeasy, like a best kept secret, although its name should have certainly given it away.  Stupid people. They had no clue.

What I remember most is the loud pulse of music, the sound that seemed to fade like an underwater silence as he approached closer. “Whereabouts are you from?” he asked as if I were some kind of foreigner.  Which I suppose I was, from his point of view. He led me through a black corridor to a small drafty room, dark except for a few flickering candles.

 

hallway pd

There he stood, looking me over, a strange seriousness in his eyes.  I grew impatient, wished he would just do it! I willed my  veins to bulge upon my neck, to tempt him.  But I only shivered in the cold, my blood probably gone thin.  He was plodding and reluctant. I wanted to scream: Get it over with dammit!  But my words were only a squeak in my throat. No matter. Soon it would be done and I could stop obsessing over it.  His fangs popped like a cobra’s teeth and I lifted my hair from my neck. I closed my eyes, braced myself for the bite.

But no. “Unfit,” he said, backing away. He studied me as if I were some rare but dejected specimen. Unfit?  After all that?  A visit I’d planned for months and now Eric Northman had the audacity to say  “Unfit.”  Smug bastard.

 

Next thing I knew the morning light glared bright in my eyes and the patch of grass beneath me was my pillow. My body was stiff, every limb enveloped with the hunger that clung to me like a disease. The obsession had not left me. I still wanted — longed to be one of them.

Persistence, I have heard, is the key to success in achieving any goal.  Most people do not realize that joining the undead  has been my single greatest ambition.  I am no amateur, no wanna-be. “Turn me, turn me!” a lot of them say, but me? I have studied this stuff. Made it my life’s work.

When darkness falls I will return to Fangtasia. I’ll petition him again and he won’t deny me.  This time I’ll have a secret weapon that will make  even the great Eric Northman cower.

Like a betraying Judas I shall carry in the silver.  How so, you might wonder.  With security cameras and strong armed bouncers frisking at the door, how will I pull this off?  Well. You underestimate me.  Do I seem like a fool?  I will hide it in my  vagina of course.  Slip it in unnoticed and when I get my chance, I’ll make Eric an offer he can’t refuse.

This time, Mr. Northman will be most surprised to see I have brought along a chain of  the most venomous metal, enough to poison any vampire and certainly enough to force him to do my bidding!   Then he will  turn me into one of his own kind.  He will be my maker, bound to me for eternity.  And  he will think twice before he ever calls a human ‘unfit’ again.

 

Please read Part Two here.

Eric-Northman

 

 

28 comments on “When Darkness Falls Part 1

  1. dornahainds says:

    Now that’s, this u a fitting story for such as that blond, blue-eyed God. 😎

    Liked by 1 person

  2. theword36 says:

    I watched every season LOL! I almost never got around to the last 2. It makes me sad thinking of it! That show was an “era” for me really. I began watching it when I was still with my ‘high school crew’, about 2 years after high school ended, and by the time the show itself ended….so too was everything else! I was very reluctant to watch it at first but then I fell in love with it like everyone else. I believe it was the setting. It did a great job with Louisiana- which is where I believe Sookie lived? Her house was gorgeous. Great story – though I am a bit surprised to see you use the characters!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I loved the series! I believe the characters have possibly gotten as iconic as Snow White LOL! (To me they are anyway.) Yes, Sookie did live in northern Louisiana — they did a great job with the characters and the set. I miss that show!

      Liked by 1 person

      • theword36 says:

        Lafayette was the best ! 😂 there were so many Good characters …I tried to read the books and I just didn’t know ….

        Liked by 1 person

      • I loved Lafayette! He was a creation of the show — did not appear in the books. He was genius! 🙂 I read a few of the books. They were good. The show was addicting!

        Liked by 1 person

      • theword36 says:

        I’m not surprised by the fact that he was created by the show. That’s interesting information, I am grateful you told me. It’s also strange because that sort of thing is precisely why I find artistic collaboration so fascinating. The way this major character isn’t even one version of the story and then pops up in another as a central one, it’s incredible to me. I agree the show was very addicting 🙂 now that it’s nearing Halloween season i don’t even know what to start reading in honor of it. I’ve been looking recently.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well you could always go with Anne Rice books, my personal fave 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • theword36 says:

        She seems to have a pretty big bibliography. Besides interview with the vampire (and weren’t there sequels?) what specific one would you recommend?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, there were many sequels to Interview — and all of the vampires are sort of connected — a complicated history that dates back to ancient Egypt. Then there are the Mayfair Witch books, which are also connected. And then there are some stand-alones. I love The Witching Hour Trilogy, Blackwood Farm and Feast of all Saints. Some shorter ones I like are Pandora and Violin. But honestly, I do not think you can go wrong with any of her books. If you are intimidated by a very long book, maybe try Pandora, about a female vampire in ancient Rome.

        Liked by 1 person

      • theword36 says:

        I ordered the book about Ancient Rome. That’s why I asked! I would have never known she set something like that there. I’ve always wanted to read a novel of that sort set in Rome .. Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oooh that is a good book! I suspect many people do not realize Anne Rice is a great historian as much as she is a horror writer! All her books have some kind of really cool history/ time period incorporated into them. You’ll have to let me know what you think of it! It should be a great pre-Halloween read 🙂

        Like

  3. Good luck in your quest at Fangtasia, Vixen-one! xxoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Fangtasia … great name for a vampire theme park!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Vicky V says:

    Heaven help any vampire who called me unfit! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Natasha Pea says:

    Sounds interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

