Glass Slippers

 

cinderella-2015-movie-latest-hd-wallpaper

By day I swept the floor, cooked their meals, washed their trenchers.  By night I slept in the hearth cinders.  I was no better than a slave, an indentured servant, bound by my stepmother’s rules and the whims of her spoiled, guffawing daughters.

cinderella public domain 2

When the Prince’s ball was announced, my stepsisters were giddy with glee.  He was the Prince of their dreams. They wished only to wed him and from this lot of attendees he would pick an eligible maid.  Silly women!  As for me, I wanted no part of it.   A marriage to the Prince?  Such a thing would be little more than a step up in my indentured servitude. I could just imagine it.  “Yes your Highness.  No Your Highness.  Good morrow Your Highness. What bid thee, Your Highness?”  Bound to the Prince just as I was now to my stepmother.  Oh no.  I’d have none!  But what I DID have was an escape plan…

On the evening of the ball my stepsisters fussed and preened. I brushed their gowns, tied their bows, even pinched their cheeks to add color to their pasty, sallow faces.  “Cinderella,” they said, “You are to remain here. Do not wait up for us. Surely we will be late. That is IF we return at all!”  With that they cackled loud laughs like crowing roosters. My stepsisters planned to seduce the Prince and stay in the palace the entire night, scandals be damned.

cinderella public domain

They will tell you a fairy godmother appeared to me, offered me a fine gown and made a carriage from a pumpkin. That is rubbish.  The truth is, I weaved my own gown, from discarded lace and damask thrown away by the Queen’s dressmakers.  (You’d be surprised how much the Palace let go to waste.) I needed no carriage, for my feet were good enough to carry me to the ball.

But it is true I had a godmother of sorts.  Old Nelly  lived in the wood.  She eked out her living by blowing glass figurines.  Such beautiful sculptures they were! Fit for the King’s Court. The palace knew well of her work, but Old Nelly lived in squalor, never adequately paid for her creations.

 

426px-Cinderella_1865_(3)

It was at Nelly’s  hovel that I weaved my  ball gown till it was finally complete, rich blue, the color of sapphire with a taffeta train, fine enough for any castle.  I now needed decent shoes. I had only my tattered wooden patterns, worn from trudging to market, soiled with soot.  If my plans were executed correctly, I’d have far to walk that night.

Old Nelly blew her glass into a fine pair of slippers, a perfect fit to my rugged feet, which were, by the way, not small.  I was no delicate thing; my chores had made me strong and sturdy.  My slippers too were strong , made of unbreakable glass,  with hard cleats, fit for any journey.  Nelly then braided my hair and rubbed my skin with her own perfumed creams.  “This,” she said, “will help a good deal.” I smiled, for I knew Nelly was wont to put a bit of magic in all her creations.

When I entered the ball, I was myself, but not myself. I looked like some otherworldly creature.

cinderella-vogue-9feb15-imagenet-b_426x639

The Prince was well taken with my beauty.   It took no effort to catch his eye and engage him in a sparkling conversation, which he quite enjoyed, for the Prince was not used to women of my bold manner.

A servant girl such as myself is no stranger to the world of men.  I had lain with many, and proud I was of my skill. The Prince was no virgin either, and eager he was to partake of my gifts.   Together, we rolled in lust upon the satin sheets of his palace bed. Oddly,  no one at the ball seemed to notice his absence. When it was finished the clock struck midnight. The Prince was so exhausted he could no longer entertain his guests.  How sweetly he slept, so innocently.  I even felt a bit guilty when I took the pouch of gold from his chamber. Ah, but no matter!  My services were worth it.   Besides, he would not miss it. That gold, although it meant the world to me, was a mere tuppence to him!

I left the Prince sleeping  and vanished away in the night.  My glass slippers carried me like the wings of Mercury, cool on my feet.

Cinderella-2015-Glass-Slipper-Wallpaper-800x500

 

I walked all the night and still felt no fatigue.  When daylight broke a coach approached along the cobblestone road.   The driver pulled back the reigns and studied me. His eyes popped at  my blue glass slippers, for who else in the kingdom wore such a thing?  “Your Majesty,” he called to the Prince inside the carriage. “I believe we have found your woman.”

The Prince offered me marriage but I refused.  What I accepted instead was his eternal friendship.  That and more gold. Which I would use as seed money for my new glass factory!

Old Nelly and I created a line of fashionable glass slippers, available in every color, custom-made to fit to every foot.  We sold them at cut rates to the women of the village, peasants and gentry alike, so all  could own a piece of that beauty.   When the women wore our glass slippers, wonderful things happened, for each shoe was imbued with a bit of Nelly’s magic.  Most of all, with each pair came knowledge; no women should ever sell herself short of her skills, talents and ambitions, whatever they may be. My stepsisters even bought a few pairs, though they complained they never got another servant as good as myself.

The Prince?  As my business prospered I paid him back tenfold!  Besides that, he and I had an eternal friendship that was mutually beneficial to us both.

ella-and-the-prince-in-cinderella-2015-movie-wallpaper

This story is in response to the Daily Prompt Glass

43 comments on “Glass Slippers

  1. Joe says:

    Well done rewrite, don’t stop.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Joe. Ohh, I could not stop even if I wanted to… the old writing master beckons 🙂

      Like

      • Joe says:

        You’re welcome Christine. I feel the same way, Someone asked how can I write all day, I ask How can you not, seeing she;s a technical writer, Then I think her whole profile is BS, and she;s there to Network her some men, Pf-ft, you rock, so keep on rocking Nice work

        Liked by 1 person

  2. akeem54 says:

    Really magical. Sweet story.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cinderella CEO! I love it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Veena says:

    What a wonderful tale.you want to linger and savour every word and at the same time quickly see how it concludes.loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. abiandstella says:

    A modern Cinderella! What’s not to love about it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am new to your blog and would just like to tell you that I love your writing!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I absolutely LOVE this, wonderful reworking of Cinderella, congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. dornahainds says:

    So, first I think in your Alice tale, somewhere you should recheck the spelling, usage of Queen/queen.

    Second, there are also space gaps between some of your words and I think with one ending sentence where the period was too far from the last word. From your Alice story.

    And here you are missing a y’ to the word (they) ‘Such beautiful sculptures the* (they)* were!

    Also I noted with my reading eyes that there are space gaps here too with your words and sentences.

    Beyond all these minor things -I love, love this story. And way to go Miss Cinderella! Make a profit and keep the man at her side as a mere simple friends. What a find indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Vicky V says:

    Another great re-telling 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Very fun! I love your feminist Cinderella.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. theword36 says:

    This was fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. This is one of my favorites, I loved giving Cinderella economic power 🙂

      Like

      • theword36 says:

        You were mentioning American public and mafia . Well when it comes to your writings I really think you could easily craft a Game of Thrones style epic with your style.Probably something even better really. Do you ever think of it? Those books “Seem” long but they really aren’t horrendously long in one sense. Would you ever try to write a story that long? im just curious

        Liked by 1 person

      • Actually, I have written a book! My intention is to make it into a Trilogy! Currently it is being reviewed by a few agents, but no offers nor decisions yet. I am keeping my fingers crossed 🙂

        Better than GOT?? Ahhh that would be my biggest dream 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • theword36 says:

        I thought perhaps you only did shorts. I do a lot of them myself and in fact for the past year I have forced myself to only do shorts, in an effort to see just how many different sorts of stories I can come up with, even if they’re fragmented. It’s actually very interesting. I just sort of pop in and start editing certain fragments really and some get longer some stay the same. I used to have a serious block because I viewed writing as sort of “sacred” and I would only do it at very particular times. My excuse was “Hemingway only wrote like 5 books.” I still kind of have this same view – it’s certainly stil sacred — but I also have a ton of fun just randomly trying new stories and then abandoning them just as quickly . What is your long book about???

        Liked by 1 person

      • I do shorts, long, novella, fanficton, lol!

        Did Hemingway really only write 5 books?? See that is what we forget. Harper Lee only wrote one (To Kill A Mockingbird) but it was one very important book!

        My book is a fantasy about time travel, witchcraft and courtroom drama. “A troubled young woman takes up with a time traveling peasant on a journey to 1613 England where they are both arrested for witchcraft.” (That is my log line) 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • theword36 says:

        Yes he did not really write anywhere near as much as a modern writer would. I suppose every little word meant more back then you know. These days we have more of a throwaway non reflective culture so we need more I feel to get noticed. I’m always interested too by the one off writers like Lee. They make me feel better when I procrastinate or when I just want to read lol. But your novel sounds very interesting. I am obsessed with time travel stories. I’m sure I would read it. I think all of your shorts here would also make a very nice collection. It is very interesting to me how you like to pull out the old myths and rework them.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think Hemingway — all of them really, obsessed and played with words, creating revision after revision. It was just harder to do it with their mechanics of paper and typewriter. I often think of Shakespeare. A quill! And paper was not easy to come by!! That is probably why I am so fascinated by old stuff.

        People that have read my novel think it is interesting. I love to rework myths/ fairy tales! I am glad you and others are liking them so much 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • theword36 says:

        Yes . I think they’re wonderful. What I was thinking about though that I do find somewhat surprising about your love for fantasy is that it also coincides with love for Kerouac. Many of my friends who read series like GOT or LOTR, they absolutely will not read something by Kerouac and Company. It’s literally like a totally separate word to them. It’s sad to me and always has been.

        Liked by 1 person

      • See now, that I do not get! Kerouac takes the mundane and turns it into a quasi- realistic urban fantasy! I guess I do not compartmentalize things so much…

        Liked by 1 person

      • theword36 says:

        yes i can tell that you’re versatile and open minded. i love it.. i think it was your generation. what happened with mine is that many people who read at all are now almost like a … it’s almost like you’re a part of a subculture just by being a reader now. and a big part of being accepted into that subculture, as far as i have experienced it, is that you must read fantasy. i always had many fantasy friends. but i also was always very aware of the real world in ways that my “Nerdy” friends were not. so i wound up reading the “real stories” ala Kerouac and onwards. but most of my friends who read, i feel, really would not even consider reading something that isnt fantasy. its like they just dont understand why someone would even write at all of the real world. its very sad to me. i agree with you that a good writer like kerouac or joyce carol oates and so forth – they make “mundane life” seem magical. reading a lot of fantasy (and also doing a lot of roleplaying) before i ever stepped into regular stories certainly altered my perception of them. its almost all just fantastical to me now. thats why i get upset with my old pals lol . trust me tis a big thing now,t his, especially with the game of thrones crowd, IMO.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I can see that. I think it is good to stay open minded to all kinds of literature. Otherwise they may miss something great!

        Like

  12. James says:

    Fascinated by your reworking of this fanciful tale of Cinderella

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

